My Past Three Months

24Feb13

Today, I published the video that has been in the making for the past two-ish months. It’s one second per day of my life. I decided to publish it now because I want to start something more like one moment per day, because I felt like one second wasn’t really enough sometimes. Each day won’t really have a set time limit in the next compilation.

It’s been an amazing past three months, really. It started three months ago when I left my job, but for the past two months I’ve basically carried my camera with me everywhere the entire time, something that I hadn’t really done since mid-2010. Photography has yet again become an important part of my life. I see little details in my everyday life again, something that I stopped doing when I became busy with school and work.

In October 2010, I started working at my first job. It pretty much sucked the life out of me. In 2011, during my senior year of high school, I often had no weekend to myself, no days off. I worked from 11am to 9:30pm during the weekends, some more hours during the week, and, of course, had school Monday through Friday.

When my finals were coming up during my first semester of college, I decided to leave that job. I instantly became so much happier. I didn’t have to worry about not having time to go to work and do my homework. I could hang out with friends pretty much whenever. I had all the time in the world to process my photos at the end of the day. I also didn’t have to ask for time off when I went to Boston during my winter break, which was great. The only thing that I really miss is the weekly paycheck. I honestly don’t know how I’ve been able to go from $200+ a week to $0 a week.

I really love that taking pictures and processing my pictures every night has become a daily routine. It’s hard to remember the little things that happened between mid 2010 and the end of 2012, because I have no photographs to remind me. I love that I can look back through my photographs now and remind myself what happened that day.

I’m happy again.

EOS 5D Badge
In the last week, I ordered a Canon 5D, but it failed to turn on even with a fully charged battery, so I sent it back and they’re sending me a replacement. The delivery estimate said it was supposed to come yesterday, but it never got here, and the status is still “In Transit,” so hopefully it comes on Monday.

Cycling in Rainy Portland
A cyclist travels through rainy Congress St in Portland

ww.TheWalkingC
Victor and I took the bus to the mall

Frozen Seating

No Responses Yet to “My Past Three Months”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

