22/365 (First Actual Testing of D5000)

22Jan10

22/365 (Seat 11)

Today there was a basketball game at the Expo that I had to record. Deering Vs Portland. We ended up losing, but that’s not the point. This post is about the D5000.

First of all, I found it a lot more comfy to use the screen in “waist level finder” position when I was using Live View. Holding it up high and away from my face in the regular average joe position didn’t feel quite as natural. I did use Live View for a couple of shots. Like “Hey Now, You’re an All Star” and “Numbered Seats” (4th and 6th picture in this post, respectively).

One complaint about Live View is that it does not have a live histogram. Neither does it let you preview the exposure. The exposure doesn’t change as you change the shutter speed or ISO. Aperture doesn’t change, either, it just stays set to whatever it was set to when you first activated Live View.

Movie mode is pretty shaky to use without a tripod, so I’ll probably come up with a contraption similar to the Steadicam. I’ll post some video later, probably as an edit to this post.

I get a lot less shots when using my 2 GB card. Less than 200 when shooting RAW (which I do). I’m not sure if that had to do something with it, but I didn’t take as many photos as I would have if I was using my D50. In any case, I’ll be trying to turn the LCD back on the camera so that I can’t review my shots as easily, hopefully it will make me think more about exposure or focus before I take a photo. Which will hopefully improve my shot-to-keeper ratio.

I still feel like I need a 4 GB or 8 GB card, for video. It depends on whether or not I lose interest in the video feature. At the end of the day, I ended up with 3 remaining exposures on a 2 GB card, where both videos and photos were shot.

Being able to go to ISO 1600 and 3200 with little hesitation is great. I have used 6400 and it’s still pretty good for 6400. I have yet to use any of the LO ISO settings.

Well, that’s it for now. I’ll update below if I come up with anything else.

Cone Block

Giving Me a Weird Look

Numbered Seats

34 Ball Ref

Hey Now, You're an All Star

Shooting Anything and Everything

About to Go Over Your Head

No Responses Yet to “22/365 (First Actual Testing of D5000)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

