24mm f/2.8K

18Jul09

24mm f2.8K Partially AI'd
24mm f2.8K Partially AI’d by David Chu on Zooomr

The 24mm f/2.8K I bought a few days ago came in the mail today. It was only partially AI’d (I knew this before) but I was hoping that it would mount on the D50 anyway since some pre-AI lenses do. I started to mount it and I saw the tab on the D50 was getting pushed away from the mount so I stopped mounting it and looked over my options:

Modify the D50: Remove most of interfering tab and stuff something next to it to jam it in place.
Modify the 24mm: Spend hours filing away parts of the aperture ring… or spend $40 to get it AI’d by someone.

I went with the second option, and did it myself. It took around 5 hours. By the time I finished, the sun was down so I played around with my flash. Anyway, I’m pretty happy with the results. Well worth $30 and 5 hours of my time to have this lens :). I’ll be going to Yarmouth’s Clam Festival tomorrow so I guess I’ll get to put it through it’s paces tomorrow.

Window Lock
Window Lock by David Chu on Zooomr

24mm f2.8K AI'd
24mm f2.8K AI’d by David Chu on Zooomr

Wall Defuser
Wall Defuser by David Chu on Zooomr

24mm f2.8K Replaced Front Cap
24mm f2.8K Replaced Front Cap by David Chu on Zooomr

24mm f2.8K Self Portrait
24mm f2.8K Self Portrait by David Chu on Zooomr

24mm f2.8K Distance Scale
24mm f2.8K Distance Scale by David Chu on Zooomr

No Responses Yet to “24mm f/2.8K”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

