Not Too Sunny, Not Too Cloudy

03May09

Past Conversations
Past Conversations by David Chu on Zooomr

Of course, the weather didn’t really matter when we were shooting inside which we did for at least an hour…

Corey, Sam, and I met up at the Metro Pulse. Sam and I usually meet up here, but it was a first for Corey. I got there quite early, around 11:15. Around 11:35, I saw Corey and went up to him and said hi. Then I asked if I could use his phone. I called Sam and turns out he was waiting for his laundry to dry so he would be late by about 30 minutes. No big deal. So Corey and I walked around and went to City Hall at first to take some pictures of the flowers there. I didn’t get any good flower shots but I got one of City Hall itself. After that, we went into an open house and took some pictures.

At around 12:05 we headed back to the bus stop for Sam. He had just gotten off the bus as we got there. We all went back to the open house and went downstairs. They had coffee and doughnuts! We all had one doughnut and then we went to the other, higher floors. After the open house we went wondering around and eventually bumped into James Meliota, the BMX person Sam and I met not even a week ago… this guy.

We took some pictures of him doing some tricks for quite a while and then we all went home.

City Hall Sidelines
City Hall Sidelines by David Chu on Zooomr

Fancy Green Chairs
Fancy Green Chairs by David Chu on Zooomr

Unlikely Large Interiors
Unlikely Large Interiors by David Chu on Zooomr

From the outside of the building, it looks like the rooms were small but once we were inside, it turns out they had massive rooms.

Podium Three Steps Up
Podium Three Steps Up by David Chu on Zooomr

Grid of Light
Grid of Light by David Chu on Zooomr

Step 1: Place camera on the ground facing up.
Step 2: Press shutter button.
Step 3: ???
Step 4: PROFIT!!

SoFoBoMo Begins
SoFoBoMo Begins by David Chu on Zooomr

I contemplated making this into a black and white with a red filter but then I remembered about SoFoBoMo. My book is going to be called “RED”. So I kept it in color. Over the next month I will look out for red objects and photograph them for my book. I might get it printed but I’m not sure about that just yet.

Pedestrian Crosswalk
Pedestrian Crosswalk by David Chu on Zooomr

Blue Megaphone
Blue Megaphone by David Chu on Zooomr

They wanted to legalize marijuana. We passed them while wondering around. Sam swallowed an ash from someone’s cigarette.

Corey with the 50mm
Corey with the 50mm by David Chu on Zooomr

I let Corey use my 50mm f/1.8D for the day and let him borrow my 50mm f/1.8 Series E until he gets his own 50mm. The Series E is all manual (manual focus, manual mode with no metering) so hopefully it’ll force him to learn :-).

Riding Around the Theater
Riding Around the Theater by David Chu on Zooomr

We bumped into James here. Sam spotted him first, I hadn’t seen him.

Close Call
Close Call by David Chu on Zooomr

We took some pictures of him doing a bunny hop bar spin in a narrow alleyway. Right after this shot, he lost his grip and his bike came right at me. The bike hit my lens but there seemed to be no damage at all. Not a scratch. I was more concerned about him because I saw his hand hit the brick wall with the handlebar or something but he didn’t seem to be hurt.

Wheeley Exaggerated
Wheeley Exaggerated by David Chu on Zooomr

Wall Ride
Wall Ride by David Chu on Zooomr

Scrap Wood
Scrap Wood by David Chu on Zooomr

No Responses Yet to “Not Too Sunny, Not Too Cloudy”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

