Cascade Falls and the Saco Heath

25Apr09

Rock Shards at Cascade Falls
Rock Shards at Cascade Falls by David Chu on Zooomr

Above: This is one of my favorite photos from this meet up. What surprised me is the small amount of processing I had to do. It was just a tiny contrast tweak.

Today, I went to a flickr meet in Saco. Hint of Plum, Catherine, from Flickr took me there. (Thanks!) She came a bit earlier than I expected so I was still partly packing. Anyway, when we got to the meeting point (just outside of Cascade Falls), we had to wait for a couple of people. Once everyone was here, we started on our way through the trail to the waterfall. We shot there for a while and then we left and went to the Saco Heath by car. The heath was a longer walk, mostly on boardwalks. I accidentally stepped into the water once or twice.

We all eventually got separated (well, mostly. Some stayed in pairs). I was with Chris Stern. Right around the looping point, I asked Chris if I could use his Sigma 105mm f/2.8 Macro. It was an amazing lens. My shot to keeper ratio with that lens was far greater than with the Sigma 10-20mm. Because it was so bright out, I couldn’t get a good exposure for the whole frame with the 10-20mm. The 105mm made it a lot easier because I didn’t need an somewhat even exposure across 109 degrees.

Flickr Meet Up Flag
Flickr Meet Up Flag by David Chu on Zooomr

Waiting by the Cars
Waiting by the Cars by David Chu on Zooomr

Mutated Branch
Mutated Branch by David Chu on Zooomr

Kevin at Cascade Falls
Kevin at Cascade Falls by David Chu on Zooomr

Breaking the Rules at the Saco Heath
Breaking the Rules at the Saco Heath by David Chu on Zooomr

Boardwalk Turn
Boardwalk Turn by David Chu on Zooomr

Red and Green Boardwalk
Red and Green Boardwalk by David Chu on Zooomr

Saco Heath
Saco Heath by David Chu on Zooomr

Above: My foot dipped into the water shortly after this.

Fungus Problem
Fungus Problem by David Chu on Zooomr

Above: 105mm Macro. It seems to be a but soft (could be front focusing) at f/2.8 but I wasn’t expecting miracles wide open.

Chris Shooting
Chris Shooting by David Chu on Zooomr

Above: 105mm Macro. Chris wanted a couple of portraits of him so I took some pictures with his 105mm. More photos below.

Chris Close Up
Chris Close Up by David Chu on Zooomr

Chris Stern
Chris Stern by David Chu on Zooomr

Budding
Budding by David Chu on Zooomr

Above: 105mm Macro. I had to manually focus this shot because the AF wouldn’t lock.

Lost in the Heath
Lost in the Heath by David Chu on Zooomr

Above: There were two trails and we didn’t know which way the others went. So we had to call one of the people ahead.

No Responses Yet to “Cascade Falls and the Saco Heath”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

