Josh and Venus Come to Portland

20Apr09

Waiting and Shooting
Waiting and Shooting by David Chu on Zooomr

On the 18th, Josh and Venus came to Portland. Josh wanted to borrow my SB-600, and instead of having me shipping it, he decided come and get it himself, and hang out with me for the day. I got there pretty early, but when I got tired of waiting, I went to a pay phone and called Josh. Yeah, I don’t have a cell phone.

Anyway, when I called him and asked him where he was, he had just parked and was wondering how to get to Monument Square from there. He told me his surroundings and I told him to stay there and that I would come there. He was less than 3 minutes away from me. When I got closer, he took some pictures. After we met, I asked him where he wanted to go. No where in particular, so we just walked around. While we were walking, I handed him the SB-600.

Bathroom Necessities
Bathroom Necessities by David Chu on Zooomr

We went inside a small shop. I forgot what it was called, but it was tightly packed with a bunch of strange stuff. Such as this thing on the wall.

Watering Lobster
Watering Lobster by David Chu on Zooomr

I had taken a picture of these things before (a cat version, though) but i wanted to see what I could do with my 10-20mm.

Four Corners
Four Corners by David Chu on Zooomr

We walked along, going no where specifically. I saw this “4” on the outside of a building and took a picture. Oddly enough, I can’t remember any of my surroundings at that time.

Fairies Abroad
Fairies Abroad by David Chu on Zooomr

Walking around some more, we went into a shop nearly devoted to Christmas stuff. I’ve gone in there two or three times before and I’ve taken some pictures, but never with a wide angle. In this shot, I got right up to the display case. I think the lighting is pretty neat here.

Welcome to Christmas in the City
Welcome to Christmas in the City by David Chu on Zooomr

He Knows When You are Sleeping
He Knows When You are Sleeping by David Chu on Zooomr

While we were in there, we made a couple of jokes of Santa Claus being a creepy pedophile.

Josh's Blankstare
Josh’s Blankstare by David Chu on Zooomr

After I had taken this picture, Josh and I just stared at each other for a couple of seconds. We were waiting for Venus, she was reading something. You can see her in the background.

Knocked Over Cones
Knocked Over Cones by David Chu on Zooomr

Please Do Not Sit on the Wall
Please Do Not Sit on the Wall by David Chu on Zooomr

We came across this sign on the library so I asked Josh to sit on the wall. He placed his camera and bag next to each other and then sat on the wall. Venus came and placed her purse on the wall and then stood, facing it. I don’t think the shot would have worked if she wasn’t there- the balance would be off.

Subway's Table and Chairs
Subway’s Table and Chairs by David Chu on Zooomr

We were hungry, so we all went to Subway to eat. When we got in, it was relatively empty. Once we got our food, the place was packed. Oh, and Josh paid for the food. Thanks Josh :D.

Crazy Venus
Crazy Venus by David Chu on Zooomr

After we were done eating, Venus took her headband and did this.

You'll Poke the Sensor Out!
You’ll Poke the Sensor Out! by David Chu on Zooomr

Josh saw my rocket blower and wanted to clean his sensor, so I let him. But he seemed like he was about to poke the thing, so I stepped in and helped him out.

There is No Cell Phone Use Allowed
There is No Cell Phone Use Allowed by David Chu on Zooomr

We went into the library and looked around. I saw a book about Garry Winogrand and looked at it for a bit. I also took a bunch of pictures with his F100 (with a roll of Tri-X I bought in there). When I saw this sign, I asked Josh to take out his phone for this picture.

Two Way Shadows
Two Way Shadows by David Chu on Zooomr

We were walking about again when I saw this patch of light. It was different from the other areas so I took a second look at it. Turns out, the sun was coming one way and the window opposite from the sun was reflecting the light back.

Josh is Flarehead
Josh is Flarehead by David Chu on Zooomr

We were in front of City Hall messing around a bit. I took some pictures of the building itself but they didn’t come out as well, so I didn’t upload them.

Josh Jump Midair
Josh Jump Midair by David Chu on Zooomr

Josh wanted to get a higher view for something, so he went on this bench. I came over and laid on the ground and asked him to jump. I took two shots.

Josh Jump Land
Josh Jump Land by David Chu on Zooomr

So This is What it's Like to be Tall
So This is What it’s Like to be Tall by David Chu on Zooomr

I raised my camera arms length above my head and pointed it at Josh and Venus and took a picture. This is the result.

Hey Josh, I Can Take Reflection Shots Too
Hey Josh, I Can Take Reflection Shots Too by David Chu on Zooomr

Josh’s reflection picture: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jtd12186/3456860902/

Location of the New AT&T
Location of the New AT&T by David Chu on Zooomr

Custom House Underground
Custom House Underground by David Chu on Zooomr

I saw Josh taking a similar picture so I came up to next him and took a picture as well. His result: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jtd12186/3456860806/

Sharing the Road
Sharing the Road by David Chu on Zooomr

In Venus's Face
In Venus’s Face by David Chu on Zooomr

Super Distort Josh
Super Distort Josh by David Chu on Zooomr

Venus Ensues Hilarity
Venus Ensues Hilarity by David Chu on Zooomr

Venus had the F100 and was just shooting away on continuous mode at 5 fps (with no film in the camera). She asked this guy if she could take a picture of him for a college project. She then proceeded to take a bunch of pictures.

Lobster Guy
Lobster Guy by David Chu on Zooomr

Venus is at it Again
Venus is at it Again by David Chu on Zooomr

Great Advice
Great Advice by David Chu on Zooomr

After we took some pictures of him, he said “I’m a tourist attraction now!”.

In Josh's Face
In Josh’s Face by David Chu on Zooomr

Directional Josh
Directional Josh by David Chu on Zooomr

Through the Purse
Through the Purse by David Chu on Zooomr

Seaside Lamp Posts
Seaside Lamp Posts by David Chu on Zooomr

Since the D50’s viewfinder and sensor isn’t perfectly lined up, it’s hard to get horizon straight. I did get the lamp post straight, though, so I didn’t want to fix the horizon, although I probably should have.

Crab Arm
Crab Arm by David Chu on Zooomr

From Around the Corner
From Around the Corner by David Chu on Zooomr\

Venus's Perspective of Around the Corner
Venus’s Perspective of Around the Corner by David Chu on Zooomr

Josh's Perspective of Around the Corner
Josh’s Perspective of Around the Corner by David Chu on Zooomr

Josh's Awesome Bag
Josh’s Awesome Bag by David Chu on Zooomr

It held a lot more gear than my Lowepro Fastpack 100 could ever dream of holding.

Passengers
Passengers by David Chu on Zooomr

Vespa Overhead
Vespa Overhead by David Chu on Zooomr

Venus saw this Vespa and wanted Josh to take a few pictures of it. I held my camera above his head and took some pictures. You can see my foot in the bottom.

F100 Goes to Dunkin Donuts
F100 Goes to Dunkin Donuts by David Chu on Zooomr

We went into Dunkin Donuts after to warm up. Apparently we sat there for over an hour.

Rechargeable Batteries on the Table
Rechargeable Batteries on the Table by David Chu on Zooomr

Josh Flips Me Off
Josh Flips Me Off by David Chu on Zooomr

I took Josh’s 35mm f/1.4 K AI’d and took some shots. This was one of them.

Venus
Venus by David Chu on Zooomr

This is another shot from the 35mm f/1.4. Josh is mean.

Temple Street Parking
Temple Street Parking by David Chu on Zooomr

I had missed my bus by some 10 minutes and the next bus was an hour away so Josh took me home. He ended up letting me borrow the F100, while he borrowed my SB-600. I can’t wait to put some (more) film in it.

No Responses Yet to “Josh and Venus Come to Portland”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

